(WWLP) – Last June, Texas Governor Greg Abbott signed seven bills into law that further relaxed the state’s already lax gun restrictions.
The shooter was able to legally purchase two semi-automatic rifles shortly after his 18th birthday, igniting debate on the different levels of restrictions in each state around the country.
To purchase a gun in Massachusetts you first have to obtain a license. There are two types, a License to Carry allows for a semi-automatic, large-capacity guns, and small guns.
It also permits concealed carry of hand guns. You must be 21 years or older.
Firearm Identification Cards allow possession of only small-capacity guns and are open to those ages 18 and up and ages 14 to 17 with parental consent.
All first-time applicants must complete a safety course and log their finger prints with their local police department. After completion of the course, the application is sent for a state and federal background check as well as a check with the Department of Mental Health. That can take as long as 60 to 90 days.
Once you get your license back, you are free to purchase a firearm with no further waiting period.