Springfield police hold ceremony to honor 17 fallen officers

Hampden County

Springfield Police held its annual Memorial Ceremony Wednesday afternoon.

The event is part of National Police Week and is dedicated to the memory of 17 Springfield police officers who sacrificed their lives while in the performance of their duties:

Thomas Miller 10/05/1675

Daniel Donovan 09/29/1908

Adelbert St. Marie 08/31/1934

Carl Rolf 11/02/1938

John P. Sullivan, Sr. 02/02/1940

Thomas F. Murphy 02/02/1940

Raymond Moriarty 09/02/1946

John W. Connors 02/20/1953

Leo Hamel 10/31/1955

Francis Sears 09/11/1967

Walter C. Juskiewicz 06/21/1969

William R. Berte 01/08/1973

Richard D. Vigneault 04/11/1973

Paul F. Mawaka 10/30/1973

Michael Schiavina 11/12/1985

Alain Beauregard 11/15/1985

Kevin Ambrose 06/04/2012

Officer Joseph Gentile and Captain Phil Tarpey then laid a wreath at the base of the memorial.

The ceremony was held at the Springfield Police Department’s Fall Officer Memorial. Wednesday’s ceremony is part of National Police Week. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Only on WWLP.com | Digital First

More Digital First

State Police Overtime Scandal

More State Police Overtime Investigation

Trending Stories

Donate Today

Contests and Sweepstakes