SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (WWLP) – The Springfield Police Department held its annual Memorial Ceremony on Wednesday afternoon, as part of National Police Week.

The ceremony started at 3:45 p.m. outside of the Springfield Police Department’s Fallen Officer Memorial on 130 Pearl Street and is dedicated to the memory of the 17 officers who sacrificed their lives while on duty.

Family members are keeping the memory of those fallen officers alive but, they say now it’s more important an ever to remember and support all police officers.

The ceremony featured bagpipes, words from Police Commissioner Cheryl Clapprood and Mayor Domenic Sarno, a memorial roll call, and a wreath presentation. It will end with a rifle salute and taps.

“Police Week has special meaning to all law enforcement officers and especially for the Springfield Police Department. We reflect on those who gave the ultimate sacrifice, I especially think of Mike Schiavina, Alain Beauregard, and Kevin Ambrose. I knew and worked with all three men, professionals, and dedicated sentinels of peace. My thoughts and prayers are with their loved one this week and always,” Springfield Police Commissioner Cheryl Clapprood said in a news release sent to 22News.

What’s usually a time to reflect on the ultimate sacrifice those officers gave became a time to reflect on the sacrifice current officers are making.

“Just please support them because they feel like they’ve been ditched,” said Maura Schavina, sister of the late Officer Michael Schavina.

Family members who lost a loved one in the line of duty saying this police week should be about uniting our communities.

Widow of Officer Alain Beauregard, Doris Beauregard-Shecrallah, added, “Some of them have sacrificed their lives and so let us teach our children our grandchildren the right way and let us respect one another. Be human to one another.

All 17 slain officers were remembered during Wednesday’s ceremony. From the very first police officer killed, Thomas Miller dating back to 1675, to the most recent officer, Kevin Ambrose, who died in 2012.

Every year, the ceremony takes place right at the Police Department’s Fallen Officer Memorial, located outside the police headquarters on Pearl Street.

The 17 officers who were honored are listed below:

  • Thomas Miller – 10/05/1675
  • Daniel Donovan – 09/29/1908
  • Adelbert St. Marie – 08/31/1934
  • Carl Rolf – 11/02/1938
  • John P. Sullivan, Sr. – 02/02/1940
  • Thomas F. Murphy – 02/02/1940
  • Raymond Moriarty – 09/02/1946
  • John W. Connors – 02/20/1953
  • Leo Hamel – 10/31/1955
  • Francis Sears – 09/11/1967
  • Walter C. Juskiewicz – 06/21/1969
  • William R. Berte – 01/08/1973
  • Richard D. Vigneault – 04/11/1973
  • Paul F. Mawaka – 10/30/1973
  • Michael Schiavina – 11/12/1985
  • Alain Beauregard – 11/15/1985
  • Kevin Ambrose – 06/04/2012