Wilbraham town election results in; races for selectman, moderator, school committee settled

Hampden County

WILBRAHAM, Mass. (WWLP) – Republican candidates came out on top in two of the three contested races in Wilbraham’s annual town election Saturday, with one nominee from both parties winning seats on the school committee.

In the race for the Board of Selectmen, Republican caucus nominee Theresa Goodrich defeated Democrat John M. Broderick, Jr.

Incumbent Town Moderator James Jurgens, a Republican, kept his position, defeating Democratic challenger Xiomara Alban Delobato.

There was a four-way race for two seats on the Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School Committee, with incumbent Republican William John Bontempi and Democrat Lisa Murray coming out as winners. Republican Joseph Lawless and Democrat Dagmar Mechem finished in third and fourth respectively.

There were also races for other town-wide offices, including Assessor, Cemetery Commissioner, and Water Commissioner, but those were uncontested. Turnout was 13.41%

Official results for contested races (winners in bold):

Board of Selectmen
Theresa Goodrich (R) – 807
John M. Broderick, Jr. (D) – 621

James S. Jurgens (R-Inc.) – 846
Xiomara Alban Delobato (D) – 586

HWRSD Regional School Committee
William John Bontempi (R-Inc.) – 744
Lisa Murray (D) – 715
Joseph William Lawless (R) – 656
Dagmar R. Mechem (D) – 601

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Only on WWLP.com | Digital First

More Digital First

Trending Stories

Donate Today