2017 Easthampton election results

Hampshire County

EASTHAMPTON, Mass. (WWLP) – Democratic State Committee member Nicole LaChapelle has defeated Precinct 3 City Councilor Joy Winnie in the race for mayor of Easthampton.

With all precincts reporting, LaChapelle has won with 2,718 votes, or 56 percent to Winnie’s 2,160 votes, or 44 percent.

“I was a little disappointed, but I’m very proud of myself and my campaign,” Winnie told 22News. “I think we ran a very clean, moral, ethical campaign and we stayed above all of the fray.”

LaChapelle will succeed incumbent Mayor Karen Cadieux, who decided not to seek re-election this year. She will be only the third ever mayor for the City of Easthampton.

LaChapelle will be sworn in in January, to serve a two year term.

Residents also voted in races for City Council At-Large, City Council in Precinct 2 and school committee.

Click here for the latest election results across western Massachusetts

City Council At-Large

Incumbents Joseph McCoy, Margaret Conniff, Daniel Carey have been re-elected to Easthampton City Council At-Large.

Owen Zaret has also been elected to Easthampton City Council At-Large.City Council Precinct 2 

Homar Gomez has defeated Paul St. Pierre in the race for Precinct 2 City Council.Easthampton School Committee

Incumbents Marissa Carrere and Cynthia Kwiecinski have been re-elected to the Easthampton School Committee.

Laurie Garcia, Shannon Dunham, Jonathan Schmidt, and Alexandra Dodge have also been elected to the Agawam School Committee.

Easthampton mayoral candidates debate on 22News

Video // Did you miss it? Here is the full debate between mayoral candidates Nicole LaChapelle and Joy Winnie.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

State Police Overtime Scandal

More State Police Overtime Investigation

Trending Stories

Toys for Tots

More Toys for Tots

Your Local Election Headquarters

More Your Local Election Headquarters