Geraghty, Hine, Brown winners in South Hadley election

Hampshire County

South Hadley voters elected a new town moderator and a new member of the Selectboard, and also voted-in a write-in candidate for the Planning Board in Tuesday’s town election.

Christopher Geraghty defeated Allyson Garcia in a two-way race for a three-year term on the Selectboard. John Hine was the winner in the race for town moderator, defeating Andrew Beaudry.

Write-in candidate Joanna Brown received the most votes in the race for a three-year term on the town’s planning board.

Though she was defeated in the Selectboard race, unofficial returns show that Garcia did receive four write-in votes for a vacant seat on the Hampshire Council of Governments, which was more than anyone else. There were a total of 82 write-in votes cast townwide for the post, for which there was no candidate listed on the ballot.

Here are the results in the town’s contested races (winners in bold text):


  • John Hine – 826
  • Andrew Beaudry – 709


  • Christopher Geraghty – 862
  • Allyson Garcia – 755


  • Allyson Garcia (Write-in) – 4
  • Joanna Brown (Write-in) – 2
  • Charles Sabourin (Write-in) – 2


  • Joanna Brown (Write-in) – 616
  • Vernon L. Blodgett, Jr. – 606
  • Jeff Squire (Write-in) – 32

Also on the ballot Tuesday were uncontested races for School Committee, Board of Health, Municipal Light Board, and Board of Assessors, and races for Town Meeting Member in each of the town’s five precincts.

Find 22News on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram; send your news tips to

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Only on | Digital First

More Digital First

State Police Overtime Scandal

More State Police Overtime Investigation

Trending Stories