A couple of big changes to laws that could impact us here in western Massachusetts.
First, a new state law prohibiting the sale of tobacco and e-cigarette products to those under the age of 21 went into effect on New Year’s Eve.
The law also clarifies that e-cigarettes are included in the definition of smoking, so now any place where smoking is prohibited, also bans the use of e-cigarettes.
Those who turned 18 before December 31 was the only exemption to the new law.
And another major change comes for workers making minimum wage in Massachusetts, as the minimum wage increased from $11 to $12 an hour on January 1.
The state’s minimum wage is set to continue to increase over the next four years, reaching $15 dollars by 2023.
Finally, a $2 surcharge on vehicle rentals in the state to go towards police training.