WILLIAMSBURG, Mass. (WWLP) – Williamsburg residents voted in contested races for Town Moderator and Town Selectman on Monday.

Karin McGowan and Kayla Solomon were in the running for Moderator, while incumbent David Mathers was challenged by Patrick Sumner in the race for Selectman.

In a very close race, Kayla Solomon will serve as Moderator. Solomon received 130 votes with Karin McGowan losing by just 3 votes with 127.

Incumbent David Mathers will serve another three years as the town’s selectmen He edged out his challenger Patrick Sumner with a vote of 198 to 106.

22News spoke with a woman from Williamsburg about why she thinks it’s everyone’s civic duty to vote.

“I think it’s important to get involved in things like your local school committee election, y’know? Voting for the people that are running for school committees, I’m a former teacher so I think that’s important. I also think it’s important to show up and help choose the selectmen who are gonna help run a small town like this,” said Dianne Martin of Williamsburg.

Also in Deerfield, there were contested races for Selectboard, Town Assessor and School Committee.

In the race for Selectboard, it was David Wolfrom versus Timothy Hilchey, while Henry Komosa Jr. and Frank Leone were running for Assessor, and Carey Etchells, Geoffrey Sharp, and Anne Curtis were fighting for two available seats on the School Committee.

In the race for Select board, which is a three year term, Timothy Hilchey beat out David Wolfrom with 540 votes to Wolfrom’s 407. Frank Leone will serve a three year term as the town’s Assessor, winning the seat with 528 votes to Henry Komosa’s 406.

The two available seats on the School Committee have been filled by Carey Etchells and Anne Curtis.

These are the unofficially results.