Most people know that babies and toddlers should ride in a car seat, but not everyone knows how long a child should remain in one.
Summer is a popular time for vacations and road trips, but you want to make sure you know the laws before you head out this weekend.
Legally, all kids under 8-years-old or under 4 foot 9 inches tall must remain in a car seat in Massachusetts.
If your child fits those requirements but is not seated in a car seat, you could be fined a minimum of $25 for your first offense.
After a child has outgrown the car seat, they must wear a seatbelt until they are 13-years-old.
Local police departments like Westfield and Southwick will inspect car seats to make sure they are installed properly.
During these hot summer months, it’s important to double check the backseat to make sure kids don’t get left in a hot car.
If a child is left in a car, unattended, the Massachusetts Good Samaritan law allows a person to intervene without being held liable for damages that may occur, as a result of trying to save a child.