GRANVILLE, Mass. (WWLP) – The dog that was struck by a car on Sodom Street in Granville Tuesday has passed away. Granville police are now asking for the public’s help as they try to track down the driver.
Massachusetts law requires drivers to call police and report any accident involving a domestic pet.
“Basically somebody left it for dead on the side of the road,” Granville Police Chief Rick Rindels said.
The dog was a seven to eight year-old Pointer that belonged to an 85 year-old woman. The car involved in the accident is believed to be a sedan or small SUV with front end and headlight damage. Rindels said pieces of the car’s bumper and headlight were found in the road during their investigation.
“Failure to report hitting a domestic animal–cat or dog–with a vehicle is a fineable offense,” Rindel said. “It’s also morally correct and you should be doing the right thing and reporting it.”
Massachusetts has a statewide leash law that prohibits dogs being off-leash in public places. Cities and towns, however, are able to create local leash laws. Rindels told 22News they are currently working to pass a leash bylaw in town. It would require dogs to be on leash or secured at all times.
If your pet gets hit by a car, Rindels said it is recommended that you call police as well. They could help you get your pet medical attention.
“We have a protocol in place,” Rindels said. “We would typically call the animal control officer first. If the animal control officer is not available then we would transport it in one of our cruisers.”
Anyone with information or home video of the street between 8:30 and 9 a.m. on January 28 is asked to contact the Granville Police Department at 413-357-8572.
Read the full details of the law below:
Massachusetts Law: Motor vehicles; striking, injuring or killing dogs or cats
“The operator of a motor vehicle that strikes and injures or kills a dog or cat shall forthwith report such an accident to the owner or custodian of said dog or cat or to a police officer in the town wherein such accident has occurred. A violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100 for a first offense or not more 10 days in a house of corrections and a fine of $500 and the cost of medical expenses, not to exceed $2,500, imprisonment in a house of correction for not more than 6 months or both such fine and cost and imprisonment for a second and subsequent offense. Nothing in this section shall preclude a civil cause of action including, but not limited to medical expenses, by the aggrieved party. “
- Amherst Regional Public Schools to return to remote learning after new COVID-19 cases
- Sierra Grille in Northampton closing by end of week
- Sen. Lesser calling on lawmakers to support Boys & Girls Clubs during pandemic
- COVID-19 survivor celebrates birthday with drive-thru parade
- Mini-van crashes into Tolli’s Pizzeria in Agawam