CHICOPEE, Mass. (WWLP) – Saturday is the first day of the new Massachusetts travel order.
Travelers coming from any other state have to either quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test they have received in the past 72 hours. Testing for children 10 and under who are traveling with an adult from their household is not required.
“I think that any precaution that we can take that will enhance our chances of getting rid of this virus would be well worth it,” Terri, a Boston area resident, told 22News. “It’s a minor inconvenience compared to what the consequences could be if you get COVID.”
Travelers to Massachusetts from 42 high risk states and Washington D.C. will have to complete a travel health form. Governor Baker says the form website has had over a million hits since being active and at least 8,000 people have filled it out.
States that are exempt from the new travel order where their travelers do not have to fill out a travel health form when they arrive into the state include all New England states, New York, New Jersey, and Hawaii.
To be considered low risk, states must have a seven-day rolling average of daily cases less than six per 100,000 cases and a positive test rate below five-percent.
The states that I would describe as sort of continuous to us, plus New York and New Jersey, which is where most of the automobile traffic comes from all for the most part have positive test rates that are pretty similar to ours.Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker
Exemptions of the order include people commuting for work or school, those seeking or receiving medical treatment, and travelers passing through the state. Failure to comply with the order may result in a $500 a day fine.