Beginning New Years Eve, you’ll have to be at least 21 years old to purchase tobacco products in Massachusetts.
People who turn 18 before Monday will still be able to buy cigarettes and other tobacco products once the law takes effect.
But beginning on New Year’s Eve you’ll have to be at least 21 years old to purchase tobacco in Massachusetts.
Governor Charlie Baker in July signed a bill imposing new restrictions on tobacco products in Massachusetts, with an effective date of December 31.
Along with raising the minimum age for buying tobacco products, the law also prohibits the sale of tobacco products by pharmacies and bans the use of e-cigarettes in places where state law already prohibits smoking.
The use of tobacco products including e-cigarettes will also be prohibited on the grounds of any public or private primary, secondary, or vocational schools.
Massachusetts is the sixth state to push its tobacco age to 21, joining California, Hawaii, New Jersey, Maine and Oregon, along with Washington D.C