CHICOPEE, Mass. (WWLP) – Voters are heading to the polls for in-person voting for municipal elections throughout western Massachusetts on Tuesday, November 7th.

There are seven mayoral races in western Massachusetts that will determine the mayor of Springfield, Chicopee, Westfield, Agawam, Greenfield, Pittsfield, and North Adams. Voters will also be selecting city council candidates in Springfield, Agawam, Greenfield, Holyoke, West Springfield, Amherst, Easthampton, Pittsfield, and North Adams. Several of these cities and towns also have school committee elections, some of which are contested.

“Be prepared,” says Agawam City Clerk Vincent Gioscia. “Make a list of the candidates that you would like to vote for. Have it ready so when you go to the polls you can vote your ballot and be on your way.”

In Hampden County, three current mayors are looking to keep their positions. Inccumbent, Domenic Sarno, the longest serving mayor in the city of Springfield, will be defending his seat against Springfield city councilor Justin Hurst. In the city of Chicopee, Mayor John Vieau is being challenged by Chicopee city councilor Del Marina Lopez.

In Westfield, Mayor Michael McCabe is also defending his position against Westfield city councilor Kristen Mello. Also in Hampen County, Christopher Johnson, the first mayor of Agawam, is looking to fill that seat again, up against city Councilor Cecilia Calabrese.

The city of Greenfield, Pittsfield, and North Adams, are also having a mayoral election. The Secretary of State, William Galvin, reminds voters that each municipality sets its own hours for the local elections, so make sure to know you polling location’s time so you can vote.

Chicopee City Clerk Keith Rattell told 22News, “A state election or presidential election polls are mandated to be open until 8. For municipal you can close them earlier. Traditionally in Chicopee we’ve always done 7 to 7.” And those who requested ballots to vote by mail, and haven’t sent the ballot in, Galvin says make sure you either drop them off in drop-boxes or at voting centers, so your vote is counted.

Brenna Murphy McGee, Holyoke’s city clerk, explained to 22News the process that goes into counting mail-in and absentee voting, “There’s a major process that goes into all of those. We have to put applications into our state system, the date that we mail them, the date when they come back, and then they have to be checked in at the polls, and the correct polling precincts as well. Its definitely a safe process.”

The following communities are holding city elections, polling hours are from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. unless otherwise noted below.

Municipalities Holding Elections:

  • Agawam (8 a.m. – 8 p.m.)
  • Amesbury
  • Amherst
  • Attleboro
  • Barnstable
  • Beverly
  • Boston
  • Braintree
  • Brockton
  • Cambridge
  • Chelsea
  • Chicopee (7 a.m. – 7 p.m.)
  • East Longmeadow
  • Easthampton
  • Everett
  • Fall River
  • Fitchburg
  • Framingham
  • Franklin (6 a.m. – 8 p.m.)
  • Gardner
  • Gloucester
  • Greenfield
  • Haverhill
  • Holyoke
  • Lawrence
  • Leominster
  • Lowell
  • Lynn
  • Malden
  • Marlborough
  • Medford
  • Melrose
  • Methuen (7 a.m. – 7 p.m.)
  • New Bedford
  • Newburyport
  • Newton
  • North Adams (7 a.m. – 7 p.m.)
  • Northampton
  • Peabody
  • Pittsfield (8 a.m. – 8 p.m.)
  • Quincy
  • Randolph
  • Revere
  • Salem
  • Saugus
  • Somerville
  • Springfield
  • Taunton
  • Waltham
  • Watertown
  • West Springfield
  • Westfield (7 a.m. – 7 p.m.)
  • Weymouth
  • Winthrop
  • Woburn
  • Worcester

Local News

Kaelee Collins is a reporter who has been a part of the 22News team since 2022. Follow Kaelee on X @kaelee_collins and view her bio to see more of her work.