AGAWAM, Mass. (WWLP) – Christopher Johnson has now been elected as the new mayor of Agawam.

Three-term incumbent Mayor Bill Sapelli decided not to run for re-election. Running to replace him are two longtime city councilors, Christopher Johnson and Cecilia Calabrese.

There are also contested races for its 11-member City Council, which is elected entirely at-large, as well as for its School Committee.

There is also a ballot question asking voters whether to move the municipal preliminary election from its current timing from four weeks prior to the general election to eight weeks prior to the general election.

Local News

Kristina D’Amours is a reporter who is a part of the evening 22News team. Follow Kristina on X @KristinaD_WWLP and view her bio to see more of her work.