CHICOPEE, Mass. (WWLP) – Some state senate seats in Western Massachusetts are up for grabs in the new Hampden, Hampshire, and Worcester district, which was formerly known as the 1st Hampden and Hampshire Senate District.

The new Hampden, Hampshire, and Worcester District includes all of Belchertown, East Longmeadow, Granby, Hampden, Longmeadow, Ludlow, South Hadley, Palmer, Warren, and Wilbraham, as well as portions of Chicopee and Springfield.

For the Hampden and Hampshire counties Westfield Democratic Senator John Velis is in the lead as of 11 p.m. Tuesday with 66.3% of the vote. His opponent, Cecilia Calabrese has just under 33.6% of the vote.

For Hampden, Hampshire, and Worcester counties, Jacob Oliveira of Ludlow has claimed victory against Granby businessman Bill Johnson for Eric Lesser’s senate seat. He says that before he takes his seat this upcoming January he wants to make sure that they make a smooth transition and make sure that all of the legislative bills and he has worked on go through before he leaves office.

Oliveira says he hopes to bring the issues of all voters to the table including issues surrounding infrastructure of not only roads but buildings, health, tax relief, and making the East-West Rail a reality. 22News spoke with him moments after he announced his victory.

“You know I’ll be sharing Chicopee with Senator Gomez and also Senator Velis, and sharing the City of Springfield with Senator Gomez, making sure that we have a strong partnership for those communities we share and obviously my colleagues in the House. To make sure we’re going in the right direction in the issues that impact all 12 communities,” said Oliveira.

For Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden, and Hampshire counties Paul Mark is in the lead over Independent challenger Brendan Phair with 78.6% of the vote to Phair’s 21.4%.

For Worcester and Hampshire counties Anne Gobi is ahead of challenger James Amorello with 56% of the votes compared to Amorello’s 43.9% of the votes.

22News is covering several races across the Commonwealth Tuesday night. Watch live at 10 p.m. on The CW Springfield and 11 p.m. on 22News for live election results.