BOSTON (WWLP) – Starting Friday, anyone traveling from Rhode Island to Massachusetts will be asked to quarantine for 14 days, unless they can show a negative COVID-19 test result. But there are a few exceptions to this rule.
Governor Baker decided earlier this week to add Rhode Island to the list of 42 states that are considered restricted for Massachusetts residents.
Currently, Rhode Island is the only border state on the restricted list. Residents who live in border communities have a little bit more leeway than others.
“There’s exemptions for people who commute to and from for work, there’s exceptions for transitory activities, grocery shopping, banking, although I would certainly say to most people if you don’t bank remotely and you can figure out how to do it, you probably should,” Governor Baker said.
22News spoke with one traveler who’s been vacationing in Massachusetts during the pandemic, but said they usually go to Rhode Island for the beaches.
“Is it surprising? Of course! It’s hard for us because we love to go to Misquamicut or whatever other beach. But I feel that we are lucky that we have beaches close by and not far from us,” Maria Savlick said.
Governor Baker is hoping to discourage residents from participating in recreational activities in Rhode Island but, if you do find yourself in the Ocean State you are asked to wear a mask and practice social distancing.
If COVID-19 test results have not been received prior to arrival, visitors, and residents must quarantine until they receive a negative test result. Violators of the new travel restrictions could face fines of up to $500 per day.