There’s a big snowstorm on the way to western Massachusetts, so probably will be spending your Monday morning shoveling or snow blowing.
You’ll definitely want to make sure you have your shovels and snow blowers ready. However, there are certain rules in terms of when you can clean your driveway or car and starting too early could cost you.
The state’s noise ordinance prohibits the use of “domestic equipment” between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. But cities and towns can impose their own anti-noise ordinance.
In Chicopee, creating noise above 50 decibels is prohibited between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m.
Cities and towns want your sidewalks cleared within 24 hours after a storm, but start too soon and you could still be facing a fine. The City of Springfield seems to allow the earliest start.
You can start up your snow-blower in Springfield at 5 a.m., and not stop until midnight on the day of a storm or snow emergency. But start before 5 a.m., and you could face a $100 fine.
Now, there is no official Massachusetts law about clearing snow and ice from a car, but a driver who fails to do so can be cited for carrying an unsecured load.
So as always, still plan on extra traveling time, and don’t forget to give yourself extra distance from the car in front of you.