(WWLP) – A Wind Chill Warning is in effect for most of western Massachusetts, and that means there are strict restrictions when it comes to leaving your pets outside.
Under Massachusetts law, it is illegal to keep your dog(s) tethered outside for longer than 15 minutes during a weather advisory, warning, or watch.
The current Wind Chill Warning remains in effect in western Hampshire, western Hampden and western Franklin Counties until 5 a.m. Tuesday, in eastern Franklin County until 8 a.m. Tuesday, and in Berkshire County until 6:00 p.m. A Wind Chill Advisory is in effect in central and eastern Hampshire County and central/eastern Hampden Counties until 8:00 a.m. Tuesday.
No matter the weather, Massachusetts law prohibits tethering dogs outside for more than five hours at a time. The law also prohibits the tethering of dogs anytime from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m., except for a maximum of 15 supervised minutes.
Owners who violate these laws will be fined anywhere between $50 for first offenses to $300 for subsequent violations. If you would like to read more about the law concerning tethering a dog, click here.